Payment Options

Payment Plans

Payment plans are available and can be requested in person, by phone, mail or email. Once requested, the original must be signed and returned back to Henderson Municipal Court. A copy will be provided for your records.Warrants will not be lifted until all charges have been paid in full. 

Payment plans for longer than 30 days must be approved by the judge. Citations with payment plans must be paid within 30 days or a late fee of $25 will be assessed. Warrants will be issued if the payment plan is delinquent by 10 days. Extensions for payment plans must be granted by the judge. To schedule a court date to see the judge, please call (903) 657-6551 and request Court. 

Deferred Adjudication

Deferred Adjudication (Deferred Disposition) is a method to have your citation dismissed upon the successful completing of a probationary period - usually 30-90 days depending upon the type of case. Even though you plead "guilty" or "no contest", the court does not find you "guilty". Instead, the court defers further proceedings and places you on probation for a period of time with conditions of probation. If you complete the probation, the court will dismiss your case.

Generally the primary requirement of deferred adjudication is that you don’t receive another citation in the state of Texas while on probation; however, the court may impose additional requirements, including but not limited to community service, tobacco or alcohol classes. Deferred Adjudication must be granted by the judge.

To be eligible for Deferred Adjudication:

  • You must make the request in writing or by appearing in person to Henderson Municipal Court on the court date and time listed on the citation.
  • You must enter a plea of "guilty" or "no contest". 
  • You must pay the fine amount in full plus $50 probation fee within 10 days of being granted Deferred Adjudication by the judge. The fine amount and fee will not be accepted prior to Deferred Adjudication being granted by the judge. There are no extensions or payment plans for Deferred Adjudication.

You are not eligible for Deferred Adjudication if:

  • You have a commercial driver’s license.
  • You possess an out-of-sate driver’s license.
  • Regardless of your type of license, you are accused of speeding 25 miles per hour or more than the posted speed limit, or you are accused of speeding in a construction zone or passing a school bus while loading or unloading children.

Additional requirements if you are under 25 years of age:

  • You must complete a Driving Safety Course (Defensive Driving).
  • You must complete a Texas Department of Public Safety driving test. You may do this at any Texas Department of Public Safety office.

Defensive Driving

Taking a Driver’s Safety Course (Defensive Driving) is a method to keep a citation off your driving record. Upon proof of the timely completion of an approved course and receipt of a copy of driving record and Certificate of Completion for the course submitted to the court, the court shall dismiss your citation. 

To be eligible for a Driver’s Safety Course:

  • You must enter a plea of "guilty" or "no contest". 
  • You must not have taken a course for ticket dismissal within the 12 months preceding the date of your citation.
  • You must make the request for a Driver’s Safety Course either in writing or by appearing in person at Henderson Municipal Court by the court date and time listed on the citation.
  • You must show proof of a valid Texas Driver License.
  • You must pay court costs of $144.00 in full at the time you make the request. There are no extensions or payment plans for this payment.
  • You must show proof of valid automobile liability insurance with your name on the policy.

You are not eligible for a Driver’s Safety Course if:

  • You are accused of speeding 25 miles per hour or more than the posted speed limit.
  • You have a commercial driver’s license or out-of-state driver’s license.
  • Your violation occurred in a construction zone when workers were present.
  • Your violation occurred where a school bus was loading or unloading children.

After determining your eligibility:

  • Make a timely request to the court for a Driver’s Safety Course (before your court date).
  • Pay the court costs plus all applicable fees in full at the time of your request. The court will then sign an order allowing you to complete Defensive Driving. You will have 90 days from the date of the court’s order to complete your course.
  • Present satisfactory proof of all the above requirements.

If you do not complete the course or submit the required documentation by the end of your probation period, you will be deemed to have failed the course and will have to pay the balance of your citation, and the citation will go on your record.