City Council

Council 1

City Council

The Henderson City Council has six members. Five council members are elected to single-member districts, and the mayor is elected at large. City council generally meets once a month on the third Tuesday at 6 p.m. unless otherwise scheduled. 

Agendas, Minutes & Videos

The Agenda Center provides links to the most recent and all agendas, minutes, and videos available.


The City of Henderson operates with a Council/Manager form of government. The City Council is comprised of a Mayor, who is elected at large, and 5 Council Members, 1 elected from each district. The Council appoints the City Manager, City Attorney, Municipal Judge and City Secretary, who work with direction both from the City Council and City Manager. All other staff members work under the direction of the City Manager.

The Mayor and Council are the policy makers for the City of Henderson. Among their many duties, the Mayor and Council take feedback from the community, approve the budget and tax rate, adopt resolutions and ordinances, establish goals and provide direction for the city government, and supervise, monitor, and evaluate the city manager’s performance. 

Contact Us

  1. City Council
    District One: Tommy Goode
    District Two: Michael Searcy
    District Three: Henry Pace
    District Four/Mayor Pro Tem: Melissa Morton
    District Five: Steve Higginbotham

    Physical and Mailing Address:
    400 W. Main St.
    Henderson, TX 75652

    Ph: 903-657-6551

    City Hall Business Hours:
    Monday - Friday
    8 a.m. to 5 p.m.